Stiftelsen Silviahemmet

Stiftelsen Silviahemmet was founded by H.M. Queen Silvia on Valentine’s Day during 1996. The training of Silvia nurses and entire unit training certification is combined with broad-based training in practical dementia care for different categories of staff that are involved with providing care.

Silviahemmet aims to make an active contribution to the development of care provision for people with dementia and their relatives.

Certification of organizations in dementia care within the Stiftelsen Silviahemmet care philosophy – based on the palliative approach,

The Silviahemmet care philosophy aims to achieve the highest possible quality of life for people suffering with dementia and those related to them.

This certification means that all staff on the organization or unit – caregivers, support staff and managers will be trained in dementia care based on Silviahemmet philosophy of care.

The Silviahemmet care philosophy is based on the four cornerstones:

  1. Person-centered care / symptom control
  2. Teamwork
  3. Support to relatives
  4. Communication and Relationship

Three key elements have been identified in order to achieve high quality of care.

Silviahemmet certification focuses on these three areas:

  1. Good leadership
  2. Trained personnel
  3. Shared care philosophy

The certification process consists of three steps of training with subsequent support to the reflection leaders.

Step 1

Training of all staff on the unit, caregivers, cleaners, janitors, managers, etc. will be trained in dementia care by Silviahemmet philosophy of care in accordance with the guidelines.

Step 2

Management training involving all supervisors who have completed step 1. The program focuses on the Silviahemmet care philosophy with an emphasis on team work.

Step 3

Reflection management training for at least two nurses/assistant nurses per ward. This training aims to impart knowledge on how to lead reflective moments at the ward. Participants will receive a template to support their own implementation of reflection moments.

The initial training is followed up after 1-2 months when the nurses have been able to lead a reflection group in their ward.


Once the training is complete and all requirements for the certification are fulfilled the reflection leaders will be coached three times by appointment.

The goal

The goal of this process works towards a certificate in order to incorporate a holistic approach to health and social care for those with dementia and to stimulate further and continuous training and regular reflection.

The Certificate

This certification means that the unit has received an education in accordance with the Silviahemmet model. A numbered certificate is awarded to the unit when all elements of the process are performed and approved.

The Certificate lasts for three years. For maintenance / renewal of the certificate after 3 years the requirements are that a total of 70% of all employees have completed step 1 training and that all supervisors are trained and at least two nurses per ward are trained in reflective leadership and skilled to lead reflection moments.

Silviahemmet/SCI monitors the certificate and the process once a year.

Certificate – includes quality assurance, follow-up and development during the whole Certification period.

For more information please write

H.M. Queen Silvia of Sweden and Wilhelmina Hoffman, Director of Stiftelsen Silviahemmet Photo: Yanan Li